EM vs Family medicine post match help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kderekb

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a DO student and I am applying EM this cycle in both the DO and MD matches. Of course the DO match has already occurred and I didn’t match to the 2 programs I had interviews at. I still have 3 programs in the MD match (I auditioned at all 3) but I’m still worried I won’t match. I have decided family medicine is my backup but I am not sure when I should start contacting programs in the AOA post match. I have a few family med programs that I am interested in that have slots available but I’m afraid if I wait until March 12th the spots might be gone. Should I contact the DO programs now and tell them my situation? Or should I wait until I know for sure I have not matched. I know there is a chance I might match EM I just want to make sure I have options and not scrambling at the last second. And I know there is the SOAP but I just want to know about the AOA post match for now.

Members don't see this ad.

^ I am in a very similar situation. From what I understand we are supposed to wait until after SOAP to contact leftover AOA programs or it could be considered a match violation.

Match violation. Once you certify your list, you have committed to the match. Now theoretically, I guess you could contact the programs and accept some type of conditional position with a letter of intent, saying you'll accept an FP spot on the condition you do not match in the NRMP match. I'm not sure any places do anything like that. I doubt they do. At this point, I'd imagine they just wait and see what becomes available post-NRMP.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
My question is why would an applicant roll the dice with so few interviews in both matches? I would always say have a backup if your viability to match is that questionable.

Reactions: 1 user