Endocrine fellowship chances... new mom

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hi.. I am currently a PGY 2 Medical Resident who is pregnant and due to deliver in June 2021. I would be likely taking a 4 week maternity leave, and during the pregnancy had a 4 week break due to medical issues. What would be the best advice on applying for the 2022- endocrinology fellowship intake considering that I would have an extension of residency by at least 8 weeks ?

Is it even realistically possible for programs to offer and make changes in schedule even if there is a delay in start date ?
Or should I just wait this year and apply for the 2023 intake, while working on my application in the interim ?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi.. I am currently a PGY 2 Medical Resident who is pregnant and due to deliver in June 2021. I would be likely taking a 4 week maternity leave, and during the pregnancy had a 4 week break due to medical issues. What would be the best advice on applying for the 2022- endocrinology fellowship intake considering that I would have an extension of residency by at least 8 weeks ?

Is it even realistically possible for programs to offer and make changes in schedule even if there is a delay in start date ?
Or should I just wait this year and apply for the 2023 intake, while working on my application in the interim ?
Would wait the year... endocrine isn’t so competitive that waiting a year will hurt your application...you would need to be up front about the extension of 2 months and you may find some places will give you interviews, but not a lot of places will wait 2 months... most programs have only 2-3 fellows a year.