Engineering exit strategy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RunShare

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a structural engineer and I've recently decided to make a career change to medicine. While I certainly have reasons for the switch, I can't decide what will go over best with an adcom. I'm also worried that I'll be viewed as indecisive, since I've only been in engineering for a few years (straight out of undergrad). Do I stick with blunt honesty ("I miss human contact" and "I meant to do it all along but got sidetracked due to such-and-such") and hope they don't see me as flaky? What's the best way of getting across my sincere desire to practice medicine when I obviously veered from the usual path? What reasoning for the switch have you all used in PS's and interviews?

If there's already a thread on this topic, please direct me. Thanks! ;)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a structural engineer and I've recently decided to make a career change to medicine...
Another frequent poster, Panda Bear, has a great blog on his experience as a structural engineer going into medicine. Google for "panda bear, md" to find it.
...I'm also worried that I'll be viewed as indecisive, since I've only been in engineering for a few years (straight out of undergrad)...
Not at all. Many posters, myself included, worked before getting into medicine. Decisiveness comes out in your essays.
Do I stick with blunt honesty ("I miss human contact"...
This is the most common reason I hear why engineers choose to become docs. It's a perfectly acceptable reason.
...and "I meant to do it all along but got sidetracked due to such-and-such")...
This one, not so much. Granted, it usually takes awhile before you know how a job/career will be. You put in two years, found out it wasn't for you, and you looked back over past interests and thought about medicine. Done.