ER Experiences going into 4th year; and EM/IM interest

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

boolin_1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year DO student, trying to stay on top of my stuff now come next year when the application craziness kicks into high gear again. Reading about people waiting for their email notification to go off is giving me flashbacks to when I was applying to schools.

My core rotation site is in a small community hospital. Anything moderately complicated gets referred out to a bigger hospital about an hour away. I have this feeling that I'm going to apply ER, so I have been trying to spend extra days in the small community ER to learn some of the ropes. My ACTUAL ER rotation isn't until block 1 / 2 of 4th year. So for me to really get a SLOE to start my application, I need to do one of my 3 third-year electives in ER.

This is where I feel kind of uneasy. I am reading about other peoples experiences during their ER electives and see how much they're responsible for doing. Chasing down labs. Following up on consults. Procedures at the bedside.
Coming from my podunk ass little hospital, I haven't seen any of that stuff. I have barely seen any bedside procedure and I really try to be as proactive as possible to be at the forefront. Basically, I am worried that the glaring differences of rotations sites will show when I am trying to perform well for a SLOE. And that i'll be at an inherent disadvantage.
How does someone try to overcome this?

I am also incredibly interested in a ER/IM combined residency, and I have no idea where to even start with that. Which letters do they want? ER or IM? Do I need a ER/IM letter to really have a shot?

If I only have 3 electives my 3rd year, should I do 2 ER and 1 IM? Not really sure how I should break this down.

Members don't see this ad.