ESL student and verbal, any advice would be appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jason12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a ESL student, and to be honest verbal is shattering my dreams of becoming a doctor... so if you can relate to my situation or if you could advice me in any way, I'd deeply appreciate it.

last summer I practiced verbal using EK101 and TPR with minimum analysis and so for that reason I consistently scored in the range of 3-4, I also took one AAMC and scored 4 so I decided to postpone my application to this cycle so I could improve my score to at least 7

this time around I re-used EK101 and TPR, and took one full length test each week under timed conditions, and repeated 2 passages each day the following days and did careful analysis, and I utilized EK101 strategy. By doing so, I've been able to raise my score to 5-6... however, I always run out of time and end up guessing the last passage, because I spent 4-5 mins to read each passage...

the days that I take 2 passages and take my time to understand the passage and answer questions I get most of the questions right but when I do them under timed conditions I just do awful.

I've used different techniques for reading the passages such as highlighting important sentences, understanding the main idea of each paragraph and connecting each idea and ask myself WHY author introduced such scenario...

at this point, I have absolutely NO idea what to do to improve myself... so I would appreciate if anyone could help me out on this frustrating situation.

by the way, my test is in 2 months

Members don't see this ad.