Experience before Applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, I've got a question...

I live in CA, i recently took and passed the PTCE and am now a CPhT. I've been applying to drugstores and some other places but haven't gotten a callback. I JUST found out that there is such a thing as getting your license from CA BOP lol. Is the reason I haven't been getting any offers/interviews possibly because I don't have the state BOP license?

(just realized how many acronyms I have in here... >.>)

I finished all of my pre-reqs for most schools. My GPA isn't spectacular, but I have tons of research under my belt (but not publications =[) I have some experience in teaching organic chemistry, but nothing in pharmacy. I feel like I can write a pretty good personal statement. I also have a very high prospective PCAT score lol (as in, i'm pretty confident I can do well).

I have been pushing my application for pharmacy school because I don't have any experience nor a strong LOR. Am I pretty SOL?

Members don't see this ad.

Also... just for giggles, can someone comment on my prospects of getting into a Pharmacy school?? =x GPA 3.2 ish, mathsci 3.1, didn't do well in the beginning but have a tremendous upward trend.

Experience always helps.

Should be fine for mid/lower schools, but difficult for top Cali schools since you guys don't require PCAT. Out of state, if your confident in your PCAT abilities, should be fine if you do well.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes. You can't be a Pharm tech in CA without having a license from the BOP