1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Experience to land an intern position

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by 1ive2die, Aug 10, 2011.

1. 1ive2die

5+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    I will be a P1 this upcoming September and I was wondering what sort of experience will help me land a pharmacy intern position. Although I have my BSc, I only have some retail, some volunteer pharmacy experience and some pharma industry experience. Although that might sound pretty decent, I've had a hell of a time even getting a summer job this year so I'm pretty sure getting an intern position will be much harder.

Is there any particular type of experience I should try to get on my resume? Join clubs/network maybe? I'd really like to volunteer and perhaps work my way into an intern position but I really can't afford to work for free. Any suggestions?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Bkobe7

Bkobe7 New Member
    7+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    It's a tight market. You will be competing against 50 other students for 1-3 spots in any one company. A beefy resume will only take you so far. Work on interviewing skills and start forming connections. Offering to shadow/volunteer at a hospital pharmacy and hope they hire you after a few months actually is one of your more viable options.

4. farmadiazepine

7+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    Nobody wants to hire someone just for the summer. They want to hire someone for the long term. If you are looking to do a stint at a pharmacy for a summer, then you're not gonna find a job. If you are willing to work in the summer, then work every weekend for them during school, places will hire you. That's the reality, at least where I work.

The biggest hassle is having to always train people, so why would a company want to keep retraining every summer when they can train someone once and have them for the long term.