Externship for 17/18 Cancelled - HELP!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

future_dr.schoolpsych

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm a PhD student from New York - through the psychpracticum consortium, I had accepted an offer for an externship for the the 2017/2018 academic year. However, a few days ago, I received a call stating that the training program at the site had been cancelled due to internal issues. As you can imagine, this puts me in a VERY difficult spot. As almost all of the reputable externships in NYC/Long Island are found through the psychpracticum "match," I have no idea where to go from here. This is meant to be my final externship before internship (I'll be applying for APPIC this fall for 2018/2019). I have strong experience in terms of previous externship/practicum placements, however, I don't know how to go about finding an alternative placement this late in the year.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone! I'm a PhD student from New York - through the psychpracticum consortium, I had accepted an offer for an externship for the the 2017/2018 academic year. However, a few days ago, I received a call stating that the training program at the site had been cancelled due to internal issues. As you can imagine, this puts me in a VERY difficult spot. As almost all of the reputable externships in NYC/Long Island are found through the psychpracticum "match," I have no idea where to go from here. This is meant to be my final externship before internship (I'll be applying for APPIC this fall for 2018/2019). I have strong experience in terms of previous externship/practicum placements, however, I don't know how to go about finding an alternative placement this late in the year.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!