Extremely confused Reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sch

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
:confused:
I am a texas resident and submitted TMDSAS, august 10th. I have a 3.56 gpa and 32 mcat. I have applied for md at all of the texas school and have not heard from single so far. I am graduating in Fall 2011 with physics major. I am considering taking admission in University of North texas Master in medical science programme or give me suggestion what I should do to improve my application for next cycle or should I be applying at all for 2011 cycle. I have no volunteering experience but done some job shadowing and have some EC. I have looked into other threads and have not found case simmilar to my situation.Please help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey sch! I think the thing that really killed your chances was applying so late. I know the deadline to apply is Oct 1, but people start sending in their apps in May and schools start reviewing apps from when they're submitted. So if you applied in August, your app was probably transmitted over a month later, with means mid-September, and that's smack dab in the middle of the interview season, which means a whole lot of people have already been scheduled for interviews. Also, healthcare and volunteering experience is CRUCIAL. I can't tell you how many times admission people have told us at interviews that even if you have stellar GPA/MCAT, you won't be considered unless you really know what you're getting into, which you can get an idea of with EXTENSIVE shadowing AND volunteering in a healthcare setting (hospital, clinic, nursing home). They also need to know that you really want to dedicate your life to serving people, which can be evidenced by volunteer work even outside of the healthcare field.