Failed Organic Chemistry 2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

misslovely

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
ADVICE NEEDED!

I just received my final grade for organic chemistry 2 and got an F. I took the class last spring and for medical reasons I had to take the final late and just now received my final grade. I got a C- in Orgo 1 and this is my second time taking Orgo 2 (the first time i withdrew from the class). I'm so upset and I feel like my dreams are over. This brought by gpa to a 3.10. I have two semesters of college left. I am a transfer student and my freshman year gpa was a 3.85 at that university. Does this mean that no medical school will accept me? I feel so crushed right now. I know I did not study well and I want to retake it this summer and hopefully get a good grade. I can get A's in physics, biology, and math classes, but I struggle so much with learning organic chemistry. I feel so diminished right now. I would really appreciate any advice/information you guys can provide. I feel like I won't get into med school or any graduate program.

Members don't see this ad.

Umm, well you'll need to retake both orgo classes as a C- will not cut it. That being said if you outright failed organic chemistry 2 then going back an redoing orgo 1 may help facilitate the creation of a stronger organic foundation as it is obvious that your problem is almost likely due to an inadequate foundation of basic orgo 1.
But yes, can you try to explain why you think you failed the course? I mean it literally means that you had no clue what the teacher was talking about. Did you do sufficient amount of book problems? Did you spend enough time studying the material covered in class?
I mean it's not over yet, but you need to figure out why you're failing so badly in orgo and fix it or else it will be indeed over.