Failed to match, going GMO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Treehun

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I failed to match and now I’m going army GMO. Does anyone have recommendations for study material, power points, documents ...anything to prepare me so I am not a soup sandwich?
I don’t wanna go from clueless intern to clueless GMO

Hooah.

Members don't see this ad.

Podcasts I think are the most realistic option. You'll have more time as a GMO, but the brain-drain of stupid **** you have to deal with all day is pretty real. If you can, working with other physicians that are board cert'd would be helpful so you can bounce ideas

Members don't see this ad :)
What specialty did you apply for? And if you don't mind, what was your Step 1 score?

Knee and ankles if your with the grunts. Throw in an occasional shoulder for the over 40 crowd. Back pain is always a constant complaint.

I was a battalion surgeon in Afghanistan, and a brigade surgeon in an airborne infantry unit, after derm residency. Here’s some advice on how to thrive in the line environment, which I enjoyed thoroughly. I’m assuming you’re O3.

You are no longer a doctor. You are, but really you’re just another staff officer. Also, you’re another dirty captain, most of whom are about to get out of the Army. The BN commander sees you all the same until you prove yourself useful, committed, and humble enough to take instruction. Do not bother or approach the CO until told to do so by the XO, as below.