Federal loan repayment/finance (Resident)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

h0td0g

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the payment will be starting soon from October 1st, I wanted to ask what you guys are planning to do.. refinance? Not pay during residency? Pay minimum without refinancing? I've been following white coat investor lately as well and I just wanted to see what everyone's planning, especially because I'm in dilemma.
I'm a 1st year resident making ~65K/yr. I have s/o who's willing to help with all other costs and said to use my all residents salary for loan repayment. I'm not sure if I should refinance (interest rate's crazy!) or look for public service forgiveness in the future. Any recommendations based on your experience or in general?
Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

As the payment will be starting soon from October 1st, I wanted to ask what you guys are planning to do.. refinance? Not pay during residency? Pay minimum without refinancing? I've been following white coat investor lately as well and I just wanted to see what everyone's planning, especially because I'm in dilemma.
I'm a 1st year resident making ~65K/yr. I have s/o who's willing to help with all other costs and said to use my all residents salary for loan repayment. I'm not sure if I should refinance (interest rate's crazy!) or look for public service forgiveness in the future. Any recommendations based on your experience or in general?
Thanks in advance
Are you at a facility that qualifies for pslf? If so then stay enrolled. It's very hard to find a job that qualifies upon getting out so if you can already knock out 3 years then it's worth staying in it. If not there's much more risk involved. I have multiple friends that are a few months out from having 250k Plus in loans forgiven. Great example of better to be lucky than good. They ended up going to programs that qualified in residency.

Last edited: