Feeling dumb and lost

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Penguin94

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I’m a first year who is about two and a half months into medical school. I’m currently taking histo/cell bio and anatomy/embryology and I am having SO MUCH DIFFICULTY with anatomy :(

I am studying so much and have felt very drained from studying all day every day the past week to just find out that I barely passed my anatomy written and failed my practical (Written 74, practical 61). I’m feeling incredibly dumb, and am near the bottom of my anatomy class. So far, I’ve just barely passed my anatomy tests (70,80,75) and practicals (70,80) and this is the first practical I failed :( i have no idea how common failing something is in med school is and I guess I’m just looking for advice and if I’m overreacting, and what I should do?

I really hate how I feel right now since I’m putting in so much of my life and effort into studying to barely pass most of my exams. I know med school is difficult for everyone, but I’m extremely scared the next test will be the one that makes me flunk the whole class:(

Members don't see this ad.

Anatomy is one of the hardest courses. Don't be paralyzed by your feeling discouraged! You will shine in others arenas.

You may be studying or trying to learn in an ineffective manner. Have you tried other strategies: group learning or dissecting with a friend? I found anatomy was best learned when you did the dissecting yourself and followed along with a book like netter or grant's dissector.

By the way, your school may offer help if you are struggling. They want you to succeed.

Reactions: 5 users