DocMcMommy

5+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2014
like the title says... I'm feeling overwhelmed and discouraged.

I've been working toward this for almost ten years now. Which sounds outrageous. I feel like all I've done is accrue red flags and end up further away than ever.

I moved out when I was still in high school (abusive family situation) and got my GED. I have a red flag on my app from around my 18th birthday when I was arressted for something really stupid. I tried and dropped out of two semesters of college. I paused for a little and got my **** together, sort of. I went back to school and did much better. I got a couple of C's but ended with a GPA of 3.5-3.6. But then I took the MCAT when I was going through some family stuff and before I was really ready, and scored really atrociously.

Earlier this year my husband passed away really, really suddenly. Now I'm a single mom and about to move to Ohio with my toddler to be near family. I'm thinking of taking a step back and maybe trying to apply in 2019. After some time with my family, a break, restudying for the MCAT, and establishing residency in Ohio. But idk, I'll be almost 30 by then and I feel like my past is too spotty to get any looks from schools.

I know it probably seems really callous to be thinking about this at this point, but I just like to have a plan and know where I'm going. So, idk. Just thinking out loud to internet strangers and maybe looking for any insight/perspective.

Thanks.

Coltuna

2+ Year Member
Nov 2, 2015
Status
Medical Student
I'm very sorry to hear about your husband. While I don't think you should give up and age shouldn't deter you from pursuing your goal, maybe it's not the best time to apply? Medical school is a significant emotional investment, and if you're already short on emotional stability (at no fault of your own), medical school may not bode well for you. I mean all of this in the nicest way possible.

OP
DocMcMommy

DocMcMommy

5+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2014