Fellowship advice and career plans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soccerusa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm hoping to get a little bit of career advice as I am feeling a bit lost currently. I will be starting fellowship in July at a prominent, research focused east coast program. Through medical school and residency I have worked hard on research leading to quite a few publications although most of these have been just effort/time based (i.e. data collection and statistical analysis) and none were really game-changing stuff overall. My personal goal had always been to be an academic solid tumor oncologist (most of my work in GI) and it seems the research has been quite helpful in securing the residency and fellowship programs I've desired.

Having said this, a few things have changed recently. I worked as a hospitalist this last year and found I really enjoyed providing clinical care independently. Also, I loved having more time for things in my life outside of medicine. Finally, I have one small child and another planned for during fellowship making eventual income and time at home with them the two most important things to me by far. My wife is a pretty high earning professional as well so I really just want my job to feel meaningful and pay decently for the time I am working while allowing me to be present with my family.

I foresee choosing a practice setting that will prioritize overall balance of income and quality of life instead of academics. I am still interested in research intellectually, particularly clinical trials and translational work; however, the income/QOL factors will be paramount when choosing a job.

My questions for the group: