1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

MPH Figuring out what public health program would be a best fit for me

Discussion in 'Public Health Degrees (Masters and Doctoral)' started by desi_ENFP, Aug 20, 2015.

1. desi_ENFP

Hello all,
    I am a graduate with a professional health degree but not very many people with my background pursue an MPH. I want my concentration to currently be on epidemiology with a school that offers a wide breadth of options as far as electives go. I want to gain epidemiology skills primary for the analytical skills but am interested in toxicology, chronic/infectious disease, health disparities as topics which I would like to learn in terms of the epidemiology background.

I am not entirely sure what I want to do (hoping that the program will give some sense of direction), but in essence I've worked in government health and am interested in city, state or federal government positions as well as options in hospitals affiliated with academic institutions.

The schools I am interested in (and not comprehensive at all! If you are in or know of a program that may fit my needs, please let me know)
    1. Johns Hopkins
    2. Yale
    3. University of Pittsburgh
    4. UMich
    5. UNC
    6. Boston University
    7. Harvard
    8. UC Berkeley
    9. Brown
    10. Columbia

Schools that I MAY consider for geographic reasons: NYU, Tufts, Dartmouth

Things I am interested in as far as the school goes:
    1. preferably small class size and ability to work with professors
    2. internship opportunities available in a city, state, federal govt or a hospital, clinic
    3. flexibility

If you would like, feel free to privately message me. I can send you my e-mail address/phone if it's easier to talk off SDN.
    Thanks a lot :)