Final Decision: Buffalo vs. Case?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trident007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I have narrowed my decision down to either Buffalo or Case. I would really appreciate any input as to pros/cons of the schools that I may not be familiar with OR any information below that I have been mis-informed about.

NOTE: I am an international student, so I cannot get in-state tuition for Buffalo after first year (which is a big pro for that school for most people). The difference in tuition between the two schools ends up being ~$10,000 with Buffalo's tuition increase, which is still about ~$40,000 difference for the four years, but I'd like to prevent money from making the decision here (at least hypothetically :p).

Buffalo
- close to home (less than a 1.5 hour drive)
- don't mind the weather (coming from Canada)
- own operatory in 3rd & 4th year
- multiple choice exams, more than one exam for every course
- good clinical training, except maybe in ortho and implants
- opportunity to do a minor in fourth year
- get all the Jewish holidays off school (apparently there's some 4-day weeks!)
- have summers off - can do some research, extra clinic stuff, relax lol
- boards part I = summer after 2nd year
- dress code = scrubs
- externship program btw 3rd & 4th year
- letter grading system (A,B,C,D,F)
- some classes with Med students (I know gross anatomy for sure, although separated during labs, and I think half of histo?)
- enthusiasm and friendliness of the students/staff during the interview
- great classmates (based on the Facebook group! :))

Case
- a plane-ride away (not a long one though)
- I think the weather is kind of the same as Buffalo, maybe less snow, but as I said that doesn't bother me
- own operatory for 3rd & 4th year (unless Case over-accepts again)
- one exam worth 100% of grade for each course