Financial Aid and Owning Land I Don't Live On

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tsukiyo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a low income student that's married, and my husband and I live off of student loan money. Sometimes we find part-time work, but it hardly amounts to much.

I'm getting ready to put in my med school apps, but my husband just got news that could mess up my low income status. His parents want to put the deed of his father's land in his and his sister's name. The land is worth $150,000. (Our "half" is $75k)

The problem is, I'm worried that financial aid offices are going to take away my low income status. If it were up to me, I'd have our half sold and the money put to student loan debt. If I got my own used car, we'd be left with maybe $5-20k, and that doesn't bother me. But I know my husband won't sell his half with his father being alive, plus his sister probably wouldn't want to sell either.

How badly is this going to affect me when applying to medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a low income student that's married, and my husband and I live off of student loan money. Sometimes we find part-time work, but it hardly amounts to much.

I'm getting ready to put in my med school apps, but my husband just got news that could mess up my low income status. His parents want to put the deed of his father's land in his and his sister's name. The land is worth $150,000. (Our "half" is $75k)

The problem is, I'm worried that financial aid offices are going to take away my low income status. If it were up to me, I'd have our half sold and the money put to student loan debt. If I got my own used car, we'd be left with maybe $5-20k, and that doesn't bother me. But I know my husband won't sell his half with his father being alive, plus his sister probably wouldn't want to sell either.

How badly is this going to affect me when applying to medical school?