Financial Aid Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cfdavid

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'll keep it short and sweet.

I have no experience with financial aid.

The bottom line is that it would be great not to have to sell my house.
The difference between my monthly mortgage ($1100/mo.) and what I can expect to pay in rent upon admittance to med school ($700-800/mo.) is only $400/month.

So, can I find a way to finance the whole thing, while keeping my home?? At most, I'll work only a few hours per week while in med school, but maybe not at all. How is this done????

Can someone stear me in the right direction? Is it possible to keep the house?

Any help is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

cfdavid said:
I'll keep it short and sweet.

I have no experience with financial aid.

The bottom line is that it would be great not to have to sell my house.
The difference between my monthly mortgage ($1100/mo.) and what I can expect to pay in rent upon admittance to med school ($700-800/mo.) is only $400/month.

So, can I find a way to finance the whole thing, while keeping my home?? At most, I'll work only a few hours per week while in med school, but maybe not at all. How is this done????

Can someone stear me in the right direction? Is it possible to keep the house?

Any help is much appreciated.

I've actually been wondering the same thing....

One more question to add on- will being a homeowner negatively impact eligibility for financial aid? Or just need-based aid?

Owning a house should not effect your ability to get financial aid through www.FAFSA.org. I owned my home when I was in medical school, and had no problem getting loans. I believe the main determination will be your income and your parents' income from the previous year.