Firefighter Paramedic to M.D. Needing advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ECrowe

Reaction score
Hello,
I am currently a Firefighter/Paramedic and I am employed by a City Fire Dept. We have a very high call volume and I have the great opportunity of temporarily caring for acutely ill and injure patients. I work a 24/48 schedule which results in a great deal of time off. I am searching for the best route for me to be successful in a pre-med degree. I have become heavily motivated in my EMS studies (Both EMT and Paramedic) And Believe I would excel in a Health Sciences degree. I would be continuing to work full-time as a firefighter/paramedic to support myself and my family. I have a few questions.

Are non-traditional pre-med routes common? I probably would not be able to do exactly full time semesters. Would this cause me issues with application and acceptance?

Is there anything I should know moving forward with this? I had been previously accepted at my local university but did not move forward at that time due a prospective job offer that did not end up happening, admittedly, this was a mistake. I greatly appreciate any information and guidance. Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.

In addition to above, there are some trade-off decisions that have to be made. To get an MD acceptance you realistically need a 3.6+ and 510+. Those two combined will get you on the right side of a coin flips chance of acceptance (50+%). Your CV should largely provide the finishing touches, most who make it through medic and fire school are good candidates to succeed clinically for somewhat obvious reasons.