Application Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jacksparrow1

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I was hoping someone would give me some advice as I plan to apply next cycle.

I graduated last year in the spring of 2022 and have since worked at a Ivy League medical school research lab for 10 months and then for the last 5 months a manager and senior researcher at a biotech start up.

Not URM

cGPA: 3.68

sGPA: 3.55

MCAT 501--> 506 (126/125/127/128) both in 2022

Over 6k hours of patient care as an EMT (primarily paid but some volunteer)-includes as a supervisor

About 5k hours of research (cancer research for a few years at an R1 state uni, human organ research at an Ivy League medical school, and human organ research at a biotech startup as a manager) with 1 publication so far for Alzheimer's research in a low impact journal

About 700 volunteer hours including coaching baseball, tutoring, directing a language exchange program, tutor coordinator, and EMS/FD,

Should I retake my MCAT and if not am I competitive for MD or should I focus on DO? Also, is there anything else that I should improve over the next months before the next cycle begins?

Members don't see this ad.

Your profile here suggests "research career" given the accomplishments and hours described here. Why not a PhD?

There are no service orientation activities or anything that shows opportunities to stretch outside your comfort zone to be with those in distress. If you are serious, work in hospice first, then add activities like food pantries, housing rehabilitation, or job or tax preparation.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Your profile here suggests "research career" given the accomplishments and hours described here. Why not a PhD?