First job offer, any thoughts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

McDreamy911

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I want to thank this forum for being so helpful with so many aspects of a residents life.

I am currently a final year surgery resident and will be pursuing a MIS/Bariatrics fellowship next year. I came across a very interesting opportunity in the south and decided to interview. They just offered me the following contract:

Base salary: $450K (2 year guaranteed)
Relocation: $10K
Bonus: $50K
CME: 5K
Complete package with benefits etc: $550K
Malpractice with tail
Dental/Vision/Medical insurance
Short & Long term disability

What are some factors that I should be on the look out for when i sit down to negotiate the contract?
Is this at MGMA 50th percentile salary for new graduate?
Any red flags that stick out?

I would appreciate any guidance from the members.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

The numbers they've given you are pretty good. What happens to income after the 2 year guarantee?

Is this hospital employment or a private group/partnership track?

Very important to get a sense if this is a place where you can succeed, do the volume and types of cases/ subspecialty work you want to do.

Make sure you get fair pay for excess on-call time.

Reactions: 1 users
Hello everyone,
I want to thank this forum for being so helpful with so many aspects of a residents life.

I am currently a final year surgery resident and will be pursuing a MIS/Bariatrics fellowship next year. I came across a very interesting opportunity in the south and decided to interview. They just offered me the following contract:

Malpractice with tail

What are some factors that I should be on the look out for when i sit down to negotiate the contract?

Thank you

The numbers are solid.

What size city?
Is there an rvu threshold above which you get paid more?
What’s the &/rvu