1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

First Post, Need Input!

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by TwimMommy, Jul 31, 2011.

1. TwimMommy

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to this forum and am seeking your advice. I consider myself a non-trad having graduated from college with a Biology degree in 2009. I was married during my junior year of college and recently had twin girls this winter.

Before I had my girls, I was on the path to medical school. I have extensive volunteer and shadowing hours and have also conducted some research. When I graduated college, I actually worked as a research assistant at a local hospital. I began studying for the MCAT when I was pregnant but postponed it due to some complications that arose, ending with bedrest for several months. Now that my girls are a few months old, I am beginning to think of returning to the path of medical school. Now that I am a mom, I am also looking into the PA route. I have done many google and SDN searches to feel out the differences, and I have mainly found that it seems to be a personal decision. I also plan to shadow a PA, but do not have any connections at the moment. Some of my thoughts...

I am afraid of having regrets if I do not pursue the MD route.

I am also afraid of having regrets on the other end, if I do pursue the MD route and have to be away from my family for such an extensive amount of time. We are lucky that both our families live locally (we are about an hour outside of Boston), so childcare will not be an issue. It is just guilt and wanting to be a big part of my girls' lives.