• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

First time applicant...WAMC

paytoncorey

2+ Year Member
Apr 18, 2019
  1. Pre-Veterinary
This is my first time applying and I'm super excited, I'm a florida resident and an Animal Biology major at the University of South Florida, I will be graduating in Spring. I have all my prerequisites done besides animal nutrition im currently taking as well as cell bio required for select schools.

I am applying to: Florida, Tennessee, Auburn, Mississippi State, Michigan State, North Carolina State, Mizzou, Purdue
Current stats
Cumulative GPA: 3.70
Last 45: 3.74
Science GPA: 3.75
Prerequisite GPA: 3.9 may vary for TN and AU when completing cell bio

Vet Related Employment
Veterinary Assistant for the last 4 years, around 4000 hours of experience with small animal and 2 of the doctors are board-certified dermatologists.

Vet Hours:
60 hours -- Pure equine experience at Equine Medical Center of Ocala, shadowing/foal sitter

Animal Hours:
Wild Florida Sanctuary – 15 hours
Big Cat Rescue – 20 hours
Arabiana Miniature Horse Farm – 60 hours

Volunteering:
Volunteering at Energy and Marine Center (EMC) teaching elementary school students about the ecosystems of Florida

Research:
Field Study and publication with the parasitologist at Kansas State CVM during a flea study taking place in Fl last summer.

Extracurriculars
Pre-Vet Club

Awards/Scholarships
Dean's List - 4 semesters
Chancellors list- 1 semester
Bright Futures Scholarship

Degrees at time of application
AA degree that I obtained while in high school.

arialexis

Apr 14, 2019
  1. Pre-Veterinary