Medical First time DO application, third time MD, school list help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tantacles

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! Thanks to all for sharing your stories and advice. You are all very impressive and equally inspiring! I am a third time MD (2015 / 2019 / now) and first time DO applicant. Last cycle I got 1 interview at UCD. I would like some help with my school list. I am ready to submit to DO but not quite MD. My big new assets from last cycle are that I am now a licensed EMT and have shadowed a DO who has written me a strong LOR. She’s a Tauro alumni and thinks I am a good fit there. Thanks for reading, I will continue to pay it forward!

Here are the specifics:
  1. cgpa 3.1 | postbacc gpa 3.9 | MCAT: 2016 - 496 (123,124,123,126) & 2019 - 502 (124,125,125,128)
  2. State of residence - California
  3. Ethnicity and/or race - Latina / Mexican
  4. Undergraduate institution - Community college to University of California to self post bacc at community college (Anatomy, physiology, microbiology, and prerec retakes) and Berkeley extension for biochem/ochem
  5. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer) - AmeriCorps 1700 hours 2015 ; Non-profit work 2017 / 2018, 1600 hrs ; Now EMT training, 172 hrs
  6. Research experience and productivity - A year in undergrad, 2 papers in school department capstone and 1 semester 2019, no pub
  7. Shadowing experience and specialties represented - AmeriCorps shadowing 2015 both MD and DO during AmeriCorps / DO virtual shadowing 20 hours ongoing, 8 hours psychiatrist ongoing
  8. Non-clinical volunteering - Science tutor/mentor 2019, task force for homeless, 200 hrs
  9. Other extracurricular activities - mostly work / school part-time / non-league sports for fun
  10. Relevant honors or awards - Americorps service grant, speaker at health fair 2015
  11. 2019 school list -
    School Name –
    University of Arizona - Tucson