StartingLater

So it took awhile.
10+ Year Member
Nov 17, 2008
UAE
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Pharmacy
Hello, I am new to SDN. Reading these posts has helped me a lot so far...

To give you my background, when I was 16 I worked in a pharmacy. I graduated HS with honors, got a scholarship, and started college. I stopped going the second year because I had no clue what major to work towards. I have since been traveling overseas... I've taken a few online classes here and there, and have failed a few because again I couldn't grasp what I was working towards and didn't care and just stopped turning in the work, blah blah blah immature crap... So now it's nearly 6 years since I graduated high school and I find myself finally desiring a profession (pharmacy). I have a pretty low GPA based on my immature days (2.7 or so) and haven't taken anything but Calculus that would be considered pre-pharmacy.

Question: I am still overseas for another 12-18 months. How can I start uber-preparing for my life change? I have thought about getting certified as a CPT, and the PCAT/Organic Chem/Pharmacy Opps books are on their way. I realize I'm going to have to work a bit hard to make up for my fickle behavior years ago, and I have no problem with that, I'm a smart lady.

Honestly, I am just hoping for some people to share similar stories with me, tell me that 23 isn't old to be starting pre-pharmacy, etc... I am nervous and excited and scared and could honestly use a little encouragement from like minded people. That said, I am so freaking happy to have finally 'discovered' what I really want to do with my life, even though it was right in front of my face when I was 16.

Thanks for anything nice you have to say, and I'll give you plenty of chances to be rude/sarcastic/witty with me later on... But for now, niceness would be nice. :D

AngelaCL

10+ Year Member
Oct 9, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacy Student