General Admissions & OTCAS Fixing and Calculating GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bmh1993

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first post; I'm very new to this forum. I've been looking into attending a master's program for OT but I am well aware that I do not have the competitive GPA for it. I graduated only this past May with a 2.9 GPA. I have no doubt that I have what it takes to participate in a graduate program, my last three semesters were all honor roll semesters. I simply suffered the typical case of young, unfocused college student during the first 2.5 years of school. My degree is in Neuroscience, and I do believe I have all the pre-req's for a program besides a sociology course and maybe a philanthropy course.

I am very eager to improve my GPA to allow myself a competitive application, but I'm really not sure of the best way to go about it. I would like to just take one or two semesters of coursework to ensure completion of all pre-req's as well as improve my GPA. I guess my biggest question is if I take these random courses outside of a declared program without attaining a degree or certificate, how will this look to a prospective school? Will they recalculate my GPA with all courses and grades, will they look at the two separate transcripts? Should I attend a certificate program for an assistant position to help my application?
Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.