FM...can I shed adults?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

matterandenergy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, SDN! I'm not sure much can be done about this, but here goes.

I'm a fairly fresh FM attending in private practice at a suburban clinic near a large city in the mid-west. I am a domestic grad, residency-trained and board-certified. Since early in residency, one clear trend has been present and steadily growing day after day: I love my kids more and hate my adults more every day.

I went into FM in the first place for a number of reasons. I had a fun MS3 rotation and a great preceptor. I also loved peds at the time, though I had a rough peds rotation at our academic center (various reasons) and I also wanted to keep adults (at the time...). So I ended up in FM, pleased with my choice.

But since actually practicing medicine starting as a PGY-1, I noticed a trend. My clinic days were strongly correlated by the % of the day that was scheduled with peds patients. I noticed myself energized by kids, drained by adults. Days with little peds got me down and in a funk; days with a lot of peds I would look forward to and exclaim to my fiancee when I got home, "tomorrow's gonna be a great end to the week, lotsa kids!"

The trend has continued beyond residency. I've grown an unexpectedly strong attachment to peds cases. No matter how crazy or annoying the kid is, I can handle it. Adults drive me up the wall, though, and all the endless things I could list about adult medicine that drives me mad. It's not that I see kids as a break from adults, or that I think peds patients are "easier" at all, no, no, absolutely not. I often feel more challenged with kids; they're fragile! I've been practicing long enough to realize what my personal style is, and this trend has been clear for years and is only increasing.