Foreign "vet" experience - veterinary, animal, or academic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gmc1804

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new to this site and trying to figure out my situation when the time to apply for vet school comes.

I'm an undergrad student majoring in microbiology (junior) and I've been doing vet experience hours as much as I can, involvement, animal, etc. However, here is the interesting part, I am originally from Peru (born and raised), started my undergrad studies there where we have a university/college system that allows students to apply and, if admitted, enroll in an undergraduate Veterinary program (B.S. in Veterinary Medicine). So, from the beginning I had core science classes as well as animal anatomy/physiology, diagnosis of dog/cat/ruminants diseases,poultry production and diseases, equine production and even surgery.All teaching classes and labs.
Then, I was able to move here and continue my undergrad and pursuing my B.S. here. The reason I feel lost is that I dont know how should I include ALL that in my future application. I barely had time for any vet experiences (7-8 classes year round, 8am-4pm, M thru F) and didn't need to, but i did volunteer at a local zoo for a summer, participated in vaccination campaigns, went on a couple of research study trips and helped every once in a while at the school vet clinic. So..... my pre-vet advisor here told me it's more like "academic" experience, but I'm not sure :?, should i list all that as animal experience?, although I was under vet guidance and stuff, but not from this country so I doubt it counts as vet experience. Anyways, I'd just like to know how to approach that when the time comes. Any help would be appreciated.
thanks =)

Members don't see this ad.