Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Freaking out...please help!

Discussion in 'Step I' started by loca Dr. chica, Apr 18, 2007.

1. loca Dr. chica

loca Dr. chica Junior Member

I recently got the scores back from the Comprehensive Basic Sciences Exam and I did a few points below passing. I haven't reviewed anything from 1st year and haven't had time to use the review books throughout 2nd yr like I planned to. I have heard that your actual Step score is usually only 30 to 40 points above this baseline. This would put me below a 220 and my goal was at least a 240. If I study for 6 weeks straight, about 10-12 hrs a day, is it even possible to do around a 240? I'm an average student - do a few points above average each block but never honors. At this point, I'm just really discouraged and have no motivation. Basically I'm trying to figure out if I should take a 3rd yr rotation off to do better on Step. Please be honest and let me know what I can expect...

Thanks

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Teejay

Teejay Team Player

Medical Student
    Just get yourself back on track. Use your fear to your advantage-as a motivator not a discouragement. Always remember that nothing is impossible to achieve. Go over first aid and start doing practice questions as soon as you can. I have heard success stories but guess what! they gave up everything and married thier books. If you can give up everything and study intensely in the next few weeks, you''ll be glad you did it.

4. jpjp110

jpjp110 New Member

Have you talked to your school's career counselor about your results? At our school we would have to have a mandatory meeting with them to discuss our plans and the results if we score below a 185. Our school has a policy that we can't even sit for the USMLE until we get a 185 on the exam. Does your school have a similiar policy or require that you meet with them?