Freshman NYCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pakijiga

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey, im gona be serious now, im a freshman goin to nycom and i wanted to know what all the other freshman think about Dean Ross's new policy that lab was going to be in the morning. here is the schedule lab 8-12, lunch, class 1-3. i personally feel that you get really tired during lab and you are just gona get drained all day and that is gona ruin your ability to function for the rest of the day. lemme know..
i was also talking to some upperclassmen about books. NYCOM's book list is like 20 books long.. all of which are fairly expensive. most of the books we arent even going to open i heard, so you probably dont need to buy them, but to each his own.
-anyways lemme know what you think of the new lab policy.

Members don't see this ad.

hi, i agree 100%. let me preface by saying that i have heard wonderful things abour Dean Ross-Lee. from everyone. i hate labs, i hate the standing around and wasting time. i wish they were in the afternoon. i also learn better in the morning so i wish lectures were in the morning. in addition, i would love to take a shower as soon as anatomy is over, the prospect of walking around w/that smell on my skin and hair and having to eat and stuff is really gross. but, i am sure it will work out. i am thrilled about the reduction of class time. susan

Do you think 2 hours is enough time for class? Not that I like sitting in a lecture hall, but i think my most productive learning comes from being taught, not teaching myself. Whats the average amount of class hours for most medical schools?

Members don't see this ad :)
you dont learn from classes in medical school, you teach yourself. most schools have the same amount of class time as nycom.