From Pharmacy School to Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Azmany

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently in my first year of Pharmacy school, in Massachusetts. I am interested in applying to medical school, but I don't want to wait until I graduate with my PharmD. I am at a school that does not give a bachelor, you just go straight through until you get your PharmD. Would that be an issue? I have found a few schools (UofArizona, Brody School of Med) that don't need a bachelors, but on the broad scale, do most medical schools require one?

My record is outstanding, I have a 4.0 while working full time, and contributed to two different research studies. I haven't taken the MCATS yet. What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

There are a few 6 year medical schools in the US but since you are already in a university you'd have trouble getting into them. You need a minimum of 60 hours to get into an offshore school...go to www.valuemd.com

Hi, I am currently in my first year of Pharmacy school, in Massachusetts. I am interested in applying to medical school, but I don't want to wait until I graduate with my PharmD. I am at a school that does not give a bachelor, you just go straight through until you get your PharmD. Would that be an issue? I have found a few schools (UofArizona, Brody School of Med) that don't need a bachelors, but on the broad scale, do most medical schools require one?

My record is outstanding, I have a 4.0 while working full time, and contributed to two different research studies. I haven't taken the MCATS yet. What do you think?

I doubt it would be an issue at all. You should check with each school individually. If you have your PharmD I'm sure they aren't going to quibble over a BS.

Members don't see this ad :)
they want to leave now. PharmD is a 6 year program....person is in first year of school, no bachelors degree