Frustrated physician assistant student wondering about medical school...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smallshot

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I'm currently a physician assistant student in the 2nd semester of my 1st year. While I had a 3.7 gpa first semester and thoroughly enjoyed it, I find myself cruising along 2nd semester with a lack of motivation and mounting frustration.

I often find myself sitting through class generally uninterested as my professors cruise along presenting various disease states and providing generally little-to-no pathophysiology or explanations whatsoever. I feel like I have to memorize everything because I don't truly understand anything that's going on because my professors don't take the time to explain things. Throughout undergrad, I was never one to memorize everything. I hated it and did it only when I had to. I still attempt to look up as much information as I can, but I feel like this is counterproductive and should've already been explained during class. Now obviously, I get the general idea of these disease states, however im not satisfied with the general idea. I feel i best understand things when I know what's going on at a molecular level.

I thought perhaps it was just me until I talked to a fellow student. Long story short, this student completed 4 years of medical school, ran into difficulty obtaining a residency, and now has found himself stuck in PA school. He agrees with my observations that our professors just shove endless information down our throats and expect us to understand it without truly explaining the information. I ask him questions about med school all the time and the one thing he always tells me is how they explain how EVERYTHING works in med school, instead of just giving you a list of signs/symptoms and treatment and expect you to memorize it like we've been doing for almost 2 semesters now in PA school.