Somatic

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Mar 5, 2007
Status
Pharmacy Student
Is retail pharmacy going to be totally replaced by robots in 10 years? Some people, especially professors and hospital pharmacists say this will happen. Just wondering what people think because I can either take a job with a retail company that I worked as an intern for or apply for residencies. What would you do and what do you think about the future of retail pharmacy vs other practice areas?

Momus

10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2008
Status
Pharmacist
Robot can't make clinical judgment and the technology to mass produce to make it cost effective are not there yet in 10 years. The cost of making an advanced robot like ASIMO about $1M and the robot is still clumsy.. maybe in ~30 years.

More feasible way:
1. The law changes that a pharmacist is not needed in the pharmacy to dispense medication
2. A low wage worker getting paid $8/h, scan rx and transmit the image/data to China/India where a pharmacist there working in a cubicle call center get paid <$5/hour review rxs. It's happening with IT, Financial services, Telecom, Consumer goods services, Manufacturing. Why do you think it can't happen with pharmacy?
3. Once verified, 2nd low wage worker fill rx
4. 3nd low wage worker double check
5. Dispense medication by teleconference counseling through high speed internet when required
6. Death of US pharmacists...

I bet CVS, WAG, RAD, WMT lobbyists' working hard to make this happen in the future...

rph3664

7+ Year Member
Jul 5, 2010
Status
Pharmacist
Momus, you are spot on.

:rolleyes:

p.s. Robots can't give flu shots, not yet.

OP
Somatic

Somatic

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Mar 5, 2007
Status
Pharmacy Student