Gap year vs non gap year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ajax224

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm sure this question has been asked probably a million times, but what is everyone's opinions on gap year vs not gap year? (Also I'm new to this website so bear with me pls)

I'm going to be a Junior in August and my gpa is decent but I have an upward trend and if I apply as a traditional student I'd have roughly a 3.6 (both c and s). I know taking a gap year would improve myself as an applicant (another year for gpa boost, mcat taken at end of summer so i can focus on it instead of balancing with classes, and ~1.5 years working as an EMT).

This is a fairly new idea to me, I was always set on going straight through. It's hard for me to tell whether it's my "pride" keeping me wanting to go straight through or if I'm just so excited to get to med school. I'm not sure.

Just looking for general pros/cons/advice on this topic. Especially because gap years have become more common in recent years. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Taking a gap year is fairly common these days. According to a premedical advisor I spoke to recently, some schools actually prefer it if applicants take gap years. Do what you think will be best for you. Also--I say this as a reapplicant--do whatever you can to make sure that you will not have to apply twice.

Reactions: 1 user
A 3.6 does not need a gap year, if that is the main motivating factor for you. If you aren't lacking $$ to apply with, don't have some awesome exciting way to spend the gap year, and don't need the year for grades/ECs, I'd just go the traditional route.

Members don't see this ad :)
A 3.6 does not need a gap year, if that is the main motivating factor for you. If you aren't lacking $$ to apply with, don't have some awesome exciting way to spend the gap year, and don't need the year for grades/ECs, I'd just go the traditional route.