General Surgery Interview Offers

Discussion in 'Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties' started by Celiac Plexus, Oct 9, 2002.

1. Celiac Plexus

Celiac Plexus Senior Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Hi all,

I'm a general surgery resident hopeful. I submitted my ERAS app on Oct. 1, and so far I have received only one interview offer during the last 9 days. What about everyone else applying?

I have received some e-mails from programs saying that they do not offer interviews until November after they receive all application materials. However other schools are giving out interviews already. Any thoughts?

Finally, I ask anyone for their feelings on my chances of matching. I go to a ranked med school, my grades are nothing special, my Step I is >215 but <220, and I have excellent recs from well-known surgeons. Do I have ANY shot at a good university program? Or should I be worried about matching at all?

Any information would be HUGELY appreciated at this time. I'm getting a little antsy.

Thanks.:eek:

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. droliver

Moderator Emeritus

Attending Physician
    I think you have #'s on paper to be competative (if not a lock) for many, if not most programs outside the most competative tiers.

4. Celiac Plexus

Fellow [Any Field]
    Rio,

Thanks for the encouragement. Coming from you, I feel a lot better. I've already checked my e-mail 3X today (it's only noon) but the inbox is still empty! But your words of encouragement make me a lot more relaxed. Thanks again.

As for everyone else, please post if/when you get your interview offers. If you feel like it, post which school so that we can get an idea of what to expect vis a vis the invitation timetable.

Thanks a lot.

5. ESU_MD

ESU_MD Old School

Attending Physician
    I applied about 3-4 weeks ago to 25 Gen surgery programs and have gotten 5 interviews so far.