General Surgery to Ophtho?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SamuelAdams

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I'm a general surgery categorical intern at a good program. In late 3rd year of medical school I became interested in ophtho and I did some elective work. I had always been intent on going into general surgery, but I became extremely interested in ophthalmology. I really liked the field, and I even registered for the match. In the end, I chose to apply to general surgery for a variety of reasons: one was that I felt it was what I really wanted to do, and the other was that it was a safer bet since I did a couples' match. Now that I'm into my internship and I see GS and live GS, I am starting to think that I may have made a mistake. When I did my ENT rotation as an intern we did a fair bit of work with an oculoplastics guy and I realized that I really probably made a mistake.

Now I want to know how I can make the switch. The intricacies are obviously time constraints, difficulty of matching into ophtho in general, and getting the proper letters and experience to make me a competitive applicant while still being a general surgery intern.

Does anyone have any comments on this dilemma? I am luckily located in a city with 5 ophtho programs, and I basically need to stay in this city because my wife is a medicine intern here.

I need your help/advice! Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.