Mar 27, 2019
Status
Attending Physician
Hey there folks,

I am a German Med Student, currently in my 4th year of med school and will start my basic rotations in this coming semester. During my 2nd year of med school i fell in love with the idea of practicing medicine in the US and have since been working on my Profile( USMLEs, USCE, improving English,etc) trying to make me the best applicant i can be.

So the main thing now is that i am currently undecided between Anesthesiology and Cards.

I have to choose between them as the application deadline for a Rotation through a cooperation between my home Univ and the US University is heading close. So i thought i could ask the physicians here who are already practicing what would you choose if you were in my place, given that you would not have any student loans and were looking to start a complete new life in US?

Thanks in advance and it would really mean a lot to me if someone helps me with their answers.

dr doze

To be able to forget means to sanity
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Dec 6, 2006
Status
Attending Physician
Given that you have ties to another country and the low level of satisfaction in American physicians, I strongly advise you to proactively consider a path that would allow you to return to Germany and practice should your feelings change in the future.

CUBR

ASA Member
10+ Year Member
Mar 27, 2008
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
Hards to give any advice without learning more about what your desires are. Pretty different mindsets and skillsets.

It generally takes longer to become a cardiologist (3 yrs IM +3 yrs cards) than an anesthesiologist (4years). Based on random surveys, an average cardiologist makes more an average anesthesiologist. Cards have their own patients, we don't. Cards work in an office, we work in an OR.

OP
G
Mar 27, 2019
Status
Attending Physician