Getting an OB/GYN spot.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

antonio

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I have been struggling with a few issues. I am currently a third year medical student. I have recently become seriously interested in OB/GYN. Unfortunately, many negative experiences during my second year have decreased my competitiveness as an applicant. I suffered an injury that required almost a year of rehabilitation (I'm okay now), my mother passed away, and my grandfather (very important to me) passed away all during my second year. I went from being in the top half of my class to the bottom 25%. I also scored a 201 on the USMLE step 1. To tell you the truth, I am supprised that I made it through that year. I recieved a few C's that year, but I think I did just fine considering the circumstances. Now my question, how are the PD's going to view my applicatoin? Are they going to say, "tough luck, you should have done better, or you should have taken a leave or absense?"; or, do I have a legitimate chance at matching. I am just trying to seek information from anyone out there that might have some insight. Thanks.:confused:

Members don't see this ad.