Getting into a Specialty Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

libraxchik

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 1st year dental student at USC, and I would like to specialize in either ortho or endo (at least for now). Besides, having really good board scores, what else can I do to increase my chances of getting into a specialty program? The grading system here at USC is very unorthodox and subjective because of the PBL program, so grades are a factor that I may have to negate when applying. Im not the president of the school or anything like that...just a regular student who is trying to get by. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

libraxchik said:
The grading system here at USC is very unorthodox and subjective because of the PBL program, so grades are a factor that I may have to negate when applying.

If you are serious about specializing I would not view grades as something negligible. Grading is subjective at every dental school not just at USC...it's a very subjective profession. Specialty programs look at class rank as well as board scores. You can't just pick one or the other.

dr_benj said:
If you are serious about specializing I would not view grades as something negligible. Grading is subjective at every dental school not just at USC...it's a very subjective profession. Specialty programs look at class rank as well as board scores. You can't just pick one or the other.

So true. You can show a prep or some other lab work to a professor, have him give you a horrible grade, then show it to the same professor 15 minutes later and have him praise the changes you've made to it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Get in good with everyone in the ortho or endo department at your school now so that come senior year, they'll love you and want you to stay there.

libraxchik said: