Getting med school pre-requisites part time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ceilingcat

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the duplicate post. I also posted on the Non-traditional students forum before realizing there is one specific for Canada.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?p=7900631#post7900631

Please don't hate me moderators :)

First, some background. I finished by undergrad in Engineering in the US. I did the regular requirements for physics, general chemistry and math. But I never took any Bio or organic chemistry in my UG. I have some social sciences under my belt as part of the undergrad. My GPA was 3.95.

Current status, I have been working for 7 years, mainly doing software, currently reside in Canada (and intend to stay here) and am working on a part-time masters in Computer Engineering at UoT. And Im 29 and single.

I'm planning to make a career switch into medicine. The first step ofcourse is to get my pre-requisites, which will be a years worth of bio and organic chemistry. I can't quit my job right now and I don't think I will continue with the part-time master's program as I don't see the point of it anymore.

Does anyone have any advice on what the best way to get my pre-requisites on a part-time basis in Canada?

Im based in Toronto. I doubt I will be able to find any evening classes for this, in which case I will have to work with my manager to make up for lost time. But if anyone has any suggestions for getting these requirements, I would very much appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

you can take evening courses. check out ryerson's continuing ed department. or you can take distance learning courses such as athabasca.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you know if medical school would accept ryerson courses for the pre-requisite requirements?