Getting so discouraged...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

noonday

Attending
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just discovered this site...I am a much older career change applicant, and I thought that I'd at least be getting an interview or two by now...but I've only heard rejections (5) so far, and no word from the other 15 MD nor 5 DO programs. I am currently a research scientist in a non-medical field, got 97 percentile on the MCAT last spring, did well in grad school, a little poorly in undergrad (but it was over 10 years ago for the premed equivalent classes, and it was a top school), and I've been doing 20-30 hours of medical volunteer work for the past 3.5 years. I guess that I didn't expect this level of stress and rejection in the process. My applications have been in since the summer, so there's nothing I can really do at this point, right? Is it just my age? Do those ancient bad grades really matter that much in light of the years since? Any advice?

Thanks for reading. I hope your process is going well.

:(

Members don't see this ad.

How old ARE you? 82?

Did you do a post bacc program? Some schools won't "accept" old bachelor's science classes as prerequisites. I think, like the MCAT, there might be an expiration date, though this varies from school to school....

That's the only thing I can think of--a bookkeeping issue. Sounds like you're a great applicant, and schools would be lucky to get you. Unless you're 82. ;)

Seriously, though, best of luck to you. You might want to try calling the admissions offices and asking them what the deal is.

post-bac? like grad school? I have a master's in a science...

classes can expire? sheesh. this is what I get for never having been a premed and not having any counseling on this process... it's like some elaborate mating ritual that I somehow don't know the steps to.