*Getting Started*

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KnockOut

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
*Ok everybody... I'm a 19 year old musician from New York, who's ready to find a career for myself. (Aside from music.) I'm NEARLY positive that I want to find a medical career for myself, and I know that I have the ambition/intelligence to succeed in the industry; my questions are:

1. Can somebody tell me the requirements to enter a med-school? (Consider this thread a "Becoming a Doctor for Dummies" lol, because I honestly am not sure what moves to make first. You DO need 4 years of normal college coarses before you can attend a med-school, right?

2. I'm not completely sure what field I want to go into, can anyone give me some suggestions? I know that I want to study/research medicine, as opposed to cutting open patients and getting down and dirty. Maybe a pharmecutical field? I don't know, I'm basically asking for a little list with some detailed descriptions of some good fields. (I like the 'behind-the-scenes' type work, like examining cells under microscopes, etc. Lab work, researching...)

3. My highschool years were ruined due to myself being diagnosed with Cancer my freshmen year. (My tutors stopped coming... and it resulted in me failing 4 coarses.) Rather than repeating my senior year, I dropped out and worked to SAVE for med-school/college. Sounds rediculous, but I'm actually achieving my goal of saving my tuition. My question is, can a GED do the trick? I honestly DID get excellent grades in Highschool without even really trying... my father is an english teacher who works overseas translating/educating. Academics run in my family, you could say... but like I said: if I have a GED and I'm killing tests/getting good grades, I don't think it would stop me. Do you?