GI vs Urology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dirtybob

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, i'm having a difficult time deciding on which field to pursue....I'm a first year med student at UCSD and they require us to complete a research project...problem is, i can't decide whether i love the penis or the ass. NO JOKE!!

Both are very procedural fields, and i would love to do either one, but I just can't decide. I know its premature to think about this, but if anyone could shed some light on how to come up with an answer, please help.

Patient contact and long term patient relationship is a factor too...do any of you guys know which of the 2 fields have that potential patient relationship?

Thanks guys
dirtybob

Members don't see this ad.

in GI you have patient relationships. If a person has a conditions that require longterm GI care, you do get a chance to see them in your office often. Hepatitis care, Crohns patients, CUC, etc etc.

As far as procedures, well that depends. IF you do GI, you better like playing with scopes! As was pointed out to me as a student already, "yes, doing a GI rotation is fun and seeing all of the scopes is cool, but imagine how it feels after you've done about a million scopes, its may not be so fun or cool anymore!"

But if that is what makes you happy go for it!

As far as urology, you may get a chance to do a larger variety of procedures. But you probably are not going to be seeing patients long term

Originally posted by bustbones26
As far as urology, you may get a chance to do a larger variety of procedures. But you probably are not going to be seeing patients long term

Not exactly. I have a friend who is a urologist, and he has a great long-term relationship with many of his patients. Many of them have chronic conditions that require them to visit fairly often, and he gets to know them quite well.