Gift idea for new anesthesiology resident?? (HELP, I'm not a doctor)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docinthefamily

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So a family member of mine is graduating from med school next month and has been accepted into a top rated anesthesiology residency. I want to get him a nice gift, and I was thinking of something along the lines of an engraved stethoscope.

The problem is I have no idea what kind of stethoscope to get him. There are so many different varieties.

I saw this page:
http://www.stethoscope.com/index.cfm?event=CatDisplay&CategoryID=14

But I don't know which to get him. Do you anesthesiologists use a certain kind? If one of you folks would be kind enough to help me out, that would be great. I appreciate it. :)

Members don't see this ad.

A better gift would be an xbox 360 or a PS3...

If you had to pick, find out what kind of stethoscope they have now, and then get either the same one engraved, or one thats slightly better engraved.

So a family member of mine is graduating from med school next month and has been accepted into a top rated anesthesiology residency. I want to get him a nice gift, and I was thinking of something along the lines of an engraved stethoscope.

The problem is I have no idea what kind of stethoscope to get him. There are so many different varieties.

I saw this page:
http://www.stethoscope.com/index.cfm?event=CatDisplay&CategoryID=14

But I don't know which to get him. Do you anesthesiologists use a certain kind? If one of you folks would be kind enough to help me out, that would be great. I appreciate it. :)

Great thoughts, but here is the reality.

a) hdtv
b) money
c) ruths' chris gift card
d) offer to help with moving costs, vacation, rent, etc (directed money)