Give hope to a beaten down P4?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tired farmer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I haven't really been on here much since applying for pharmacy schools four years ago or so, and don't even remember my old user name. Figured I'd come back as I remember the forum being helpful.

Apologies in advance for the long post, and my poor grammar (i am so tired right now)

So, I'm a P4 student going to school in Chicago (one of the SIX schools in my state right now), and doing my rotations.

I got into pharmacy because I liked the idea of working in the retail setting. All my other jobs had been in retail, I loved science, and I loved the idea of helping people on such a personal basis.

I have had a job at a community for over 4 years now, and I love everyone I work with, and really enjoy it there. I always thought that's what I would be doing.

Then the years of pharmacy school started to go by.... I still liked my job (still do to this day), but the mood of the speakers coming in started to change. It went from the "JOBS ARE EVERYWHERE OMGG!!" to the, "set yourself apart and hope for the best" kind of talks. Companies cut back on the loans they gave out, and even started to eliminate the "student" pay category.

I do not recall the last time I worked with a pharmacist, staff, floater or otherwise that recommends going into retail anymore. Pharmacist and Tech hours are being cut, reimbursement rates are getting lower and lower, people are talking about getting rid of medicare. Then theres this whole MedCo, Express Scripts merger, remote verification systems that are making the retail world more and more irrelevant and getting rid of more and more jobs, and the 6 pharmacy schools are not helping.

Then I start rotations and get a lot of the "well your doing a residency right? You're not just going to work at CVS or something are you?"