Glide vs C-Mac

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocVapor

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My place only has Glidescopes, but as a med student I had the opportunity to use a C-Mac a small handful of times (on a MICU rotation). I'm perfectly comfortable with the glidescope and am not sure I'm really missing out by not having a C-Mac available to practice with. Thus my questions:

Which one do you prefer, if either? If you have access to both, are there times where you might reach for one versus the other, and why?

Members don't see this ad.

Don’t matter. Just need to get use to what you’re comfortable with. I like McGrath personally, because I was trained with it. I used to have access to McGrath and Glide. We covered all urgent airway in the hospital, it’s much easier to have a McGrath in my pocket than logging Glide around.
Just be comfortable with what your facilities have.

Reactions: 5 users
We mostly have CMACs, Glidescopes, and King Visions (I forget what we have at our children's hospital). For really anterior airways I seem to like the CMAC D-blade best. For smaller mouth openings I prefer the newer Glidescopes. For teaching med students/interns, I love having them use the handheld CMAC with a MAC 3 blade and the screen only pointed so I can see it while they must use it as a DL.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
My place only has Glidescopes, but as a med student I had the opportunity to use a C-Mac a small handful of times (on a MICU rotation). I'm perfectly comfortable with the glidescope and am not sure I'm really missing out by not having a C-Mac available to practice with. Thus my questions:

Which one do you prefer, if either? If you have access to both, are there times where you might reach for one versus the other, and why?