Glide year - what to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j127

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a postbacc student about to start applying for the 2009 cycle. I will be done with my pre-req classes as of July and am trying to figure out what to do during the glide year. I'm thinking a medically related job would be best - does anyone have any suggestions on positions that do not require clinical experience beforehand? I'm also considering taking MPH classes, as I eventually do want to obtain an MPH degree as well. Does anyone know of any schools in california that let non-degree students take MPH classes?

Thanks - any other advice on what to do during this year would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm planning on staying at my software job, TFing gen chem, and continuing my volunteer job as a rape crisis medical advocate. I don't know much about MPH options, sorry! Interesting question though.

During my glide year I worked as a ER technician. Not an EMT, which requires additional training. The hospital trained me on the job.

It provided wonderful experiences that helped me during the first year of med school.

Members don't see this ad :)
A few people I know (myself included...although I am not nearly as close to applying yet as you are) have done AmeriCorps.

I'm not sure if you are familiar with it but its basically a domestic version of the Peace Corps. I know there are placements across the US (in California I believe the placement is in San Francisco..not sure if there are any more)

Its a great experience; you get paid a stipend (not much though), its an 11 month comittment and its pretty flexible (in terms of taking days off for your interviews and such). You also get money once you complete your service (to be applied to school expenses).