GLP1 Agonists Impact on Retina

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jjhfsdio

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am an ophthalmology resident who is interested in retina surgery. Retinal pathology and surgeries stand out to me as my favorites I have encountered thus far. That said, the overall health of retina as a profession is also of relevance when deciding whether or not to undergo a 2 year fellowship.

GLP1 agonists seem poised to significantly reduce obesity, diabetes, and presumably diabetic retinopathy. Despite some reports of rapidly decreasing sugars producing a temporary worsening of PDR, if there was to be widespread use of GLP1 agonists as an early intervention on obesity, it seems very likely that less people would ever develop diabetic retinopathy. Clearly this is a great thing for patients. Due to recent data showing decreases in strokes and MI, GLP1 agonists seem poised to enter the pantheon of widely-prescribed drugs like statins and beta blockers.

Many businesses are involved with either causing or treating obesity, and a decrease in the obesity rate would impact them. GLP1 agonists are causing financial ramifications across the economy, from fast-food companies to the makers of insulin pumps. (Medtech can cope with GLP-1s but ‘fear and doubt’ suppressing stocks: analysts)

I am curious how you all view the potential impact on retina of a population-wide decrease in obesity and diabetes. A few questions:
- What percentage of an average retina practice consists of diabetic retinopathy patients?
- How saturated is retina with doctors at present? Would a 10-20% reduction in patient volumes significantly harm the field?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.