babooforboo

2+ Year Member
Aug 21, 2016
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Hello, community!

I am just about done my application for this cycle, and I was wondering what people thought about the possibility of going to a foreign vet school like Ross or SGU versus waiting another cycle to get into an american school (preferably my IS choice).

I ask because I am a bit nervous about being rejected from all my US choices this cycle, but I think I may have a shot at Ross or SGU. Is it worth waiting a year? I already chose to take a gap year after I graduated in May, so if I bypass this upcoming cycle for the next one, I'd be taking 2 gap years essentially.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! :)

Awapi

UGA VetMed c/o 2021
7+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2010
Status
Veterinary Student
@babooforboo First off, don't count yourself out! A lot of people come on here thinking that they will not get in to a certain school and then end up getting in. By giving advice here I am not supporting you being down on your chances, :) haha, I just understand thinking ahead.

Just working off the (possibly false) assumption that you *might* not get in:

1) Where is your IS and is your IS significantly cheaper than Ross/SGU? (Not just tuition, but also cost of living/travel/etc)
2) What would you be doing next year if you decided to take another stab at applying to your IS? Would you be making money? What would you be doing differently to improve your application?
3) If your IS is not significantly cheaper, would you have a strong application for a school like NCSU where you can switch to in-state tuition after a year?